Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance

So the demo for KH: Dream Drop Distance hit the eshop this past week. Having had a chance to finally sit down a play it, plus a bit of time to reflect on it, here’s some of my thoughts.

First, I’ll say that I’m still super excited about this game coming out. I love the bight colors of the world(s), and even Traverse Town seems to be brighter some how. The first character interaction you have is with the main character from The World Ends With You. I had tried to play that game (TWEWY) in the past, and had never gotten into it, so I’m rather unfamiliar with most of the characters. I have to say that I do appreciate finally having a character who isn’t like “sure, strange person from another world who I’ve never seen before, please help me with my problems!” Kingdom Hearts wouldn’t be as fun if everyone was like that, but it was a refreshing change of pace, having some one say no. It was a more real interaction between two people who’ve never met, than any other part of any of the Kingdom Hearts games.

Now, on to game play. It took a bit to get used to the “FreeFlow” system, but once I figured out that you can pretty much “FreeFlow” everything, it made things a bit easier. The game is set up in a similar fashion to the previous KH games on the DS, as well as Birth By Sleep on the PSP. You use the circle pad to move, L and R control your camera, A is attack, B is jump, X for your special Skills, and L and Y allow you to “FreeFlow” and you scroll through your spells and special attacks with the D-pad. Combat is fairly intuitive, and has the same familiar feel of other games in the series. One of my favorite aspects, other than the “FreeFlow”, was being able to use your Dream Eater companions. As you attack, a pink meter fills. After it’s full, tap it on the bottom screen, and you and your Dream Eater do a dance like maneuver, with you pressing A, B, X, Y when the music note hits your target circle. I never did very well with it, but I look forward to more practice once the actual game comes out.

Over all, the demo is quite short, and left me wanting more. I can’t wait to play the full game, when it comes out July 31st.

Leave a Reply

