Kingdom Hearts

I’ve always had a lot of love for the Kingdom Hearts games, ever since I borrowed my friends PS2 to play the first one when I should have been taking my finals my first year of college. I ended up beating the game in about two days. I was completely drawn into the story, art, and characters. I’ve always been a fan of Disney, and really enjoyed the Final Fantasy games I had for my PSone. When my friend offered to let me play Kingdom Hearts, I couldn’t pass it up.

Fast forward a few years, to when Kingdom Hearts 2 came out. I was beyond thrilled. By then I had my own PS2 to play on, and even bought the collectors edition strategy guide. It was just as much fun as I remembered the first one being. I’d play for hours, and not even realize the time had passed. Kingdom Hearts 2 brought even more Disney and Square Enix characters into the KH world, along with the return of some old friends.

There’s been 4 “spin-off” games, all on handhelds, that I’ve gotten to play as well. While Chain of Memories, and 358/2 days were a struggle to play, despite my love of the story, Birth by Sleep and re:Coded are both amazing. I love Birth by Sleep, because you see a side of Kingdom Hearts that’s never been seen before. You meet characters before they were villains, and it added so much to the KH universe. It answered a lot of questions, but also created more. Re:coded I just started playing. I’ve already logged close to 5 hours in the game, once again neglecting my school work for game play (I’m sensing a pattern here…). It’s so much fun to play a different version of the first Kingdom Hearts, and remember what it was like that very first time.

My amazing, tolerant husband, who knows how much I love the games, has ordered me Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance for my birthday. I can’t wait to see this new side, to once again play as both Sora and Riku. I’m getting the Mark Mastery edition, and I can’t wait to see how Square Enix works with the Augmented Reality aspect of the 3DS. I’m also excited about the 3DS case, and the art cards.

I sincerely hope that KH: 3D is everything people want it to be, and will be another great installment of an already great series.

Leave a Reply

