Nintendo’s E3 Press conference

So, Nintendo’s conference was mostly about Wii U. And here’s some of the high points (in my opinion)

Miiverse – It seems like a combination of StreetPass and Swapnote from the 3DS. But what’s fun is that people can leave comments in your games with advice or tips.

The Wii U is also getting its own edition of Batman: Arkham City, with 2 exclusive armored costumes for Batman and Catwoman. I haven’t played Arkham City at all yet, so this seems appealing, depending on the price point for the Wii U.

I do like the extra way that the screen controller can connect and be used with games, or be used entirely on it’s own.

They also talked about the new Pikmin game. Which isn’t my thing, but looks beautiful.

The new Super Mario Bros game looks pretty good. And I’m looking forward to the Super Mario Bros 2 on the 3DS, as well as the Paper Mario game. I have a huge love for Paper Mario, and I can’t wait to be able to take it with me.

The way Just Dance 4 is going to work on the Wii U is interesting. I’m glad they’re including a way for those who don’t want to dance, or if you have more than 4 people, to be involved with controlling the moves on the Wii U controller.

ZombieU looks pretty cool, and way better than some of the other “hardcore” games that have been put out for motion controls and the like.

Nintendoland looks pretty neat. I like that there’s different “attractions” based on popular Nintendo franchises, and can see this selling like Super Smash Brothers.

Oh, and Scribblenauts!  I enjoy the hell out of this series, so I’m looking forward to Scribblenauts Ultimate for both the Wii U and 3DS. In the Wii U version (and I”ll be interested to see if it’s in the 3DS version as well) you not only can use nouns and adjectives, but also make and share your own creations. In the trailer, they showed a dog combined with a car. That kind of thing is just what the Scribblenauts franchise needed, and I can’t wait to see what people come up with.

I am disappointed that there was so little time dedicated to the 3DS as this is my main Nintendo system, and I’m not super interested in the Wii U at this time, because of the cost of it, but I probably will want to pick it up eventually. Especially since they’ve announced that you can use two of the screen controllers with it.

Nintendo does look like they’re trying to get back some of the hardcore gamers that they lost with the release of the Wii. As far as that goes, I’m pretty sure the only place Nintendo can go from where they are now, is up.

The new controller they have is incredibly innovative, and I sincerely hope that it works as well as they’ve been showing it to work.

Tomorrow night at 6pm PT Nintendo is doing another conference about more of the games. I’m looking forward to seeing what that press conference holds in store.

Leave a Reply

